Tags

, ,

The most important thing you can do for hooded eyes is put a ton of volumizing mascara and/or fake lashes on. I personally do not like falsies because I use makeup to enhance my features and falsies, I feel, goes beyond enhancing to straight up faking it, which isn’t my thing. They look AMAZING on so many people and they’re super popular, but not my thing. I have yet to find my Holy Grail mascara, but I am currently liking L’Oreal Miss Manga, Maybelline Rocket Volume, Clinique High Impact Extreme Mascara, and Maybelline Falsies. I want to try the L’Oreal Butterfly mascara and the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara and, in high end, the Benefit They’re Real and Too Faced Better than Sex. I will update if I find something I really love.

A lot of people with hoods do not like applying mascara because it gets all over their hoods and ruins the rest of their eye makeup. This is a real problem, but there are solutions. 1) You can place a business card, a post it, a credit card, or a piece of paper between your lashes and your eyelid so the mascara gets on that and not your skin or 2) you can scrape the mascara off your eyelid with a stiff brush, like a concealer brush, once it’s dried. I usually do 2 because who has time to get a business card. It’s super simple and, even though I’m scraping over my eye makeup, it doesn’t ruin the look at all.

The reason that mascara is so crucial to hooded eyes is that it opens the eye and covers some or all of the hood. If you choose falsies, you’ll cover the whole hood. This means that you can fake a normal crease and create eye looks without worrying about your hood as much. It makes everything much easier. Also, as a general note, if you find winged liner difficult and you mess up a bit, mascara will hide a lot of those mistakes. Everyone should wear mascara and/or falsies, not just those of us with hoods. But it does help us especially!

I hope this helped a bit and if you have a favorite mascara, please let me know what it is because I’m on a quest for my Holy Grail. See you in my next post!

Update: Since posting, I went to my CVS and the Lash Sensational and the Butterfly Intense Mascara. It’s been snowing like crazy and I haven’t really been wearing makeup because I haven’t really left my house (#CabinFever). I have tried them and I like them both a lot, but I’ll have to wear them for a day or two before I have a final opinion.

xo

