Tags

, ,

Hey guys! I was out of town last week for my grandmother’s 90th birthday, so it has been quite a while since I posted. Sorry about that! I figured, to get back into the swing of things, I would list out my faves from last month with hooded eyes and redness in mind, but with some other favorites thrown in too.

IMG_1643

Face

Primer

IMG_1644

My favorite primer this month and probably for many months to come is the Clinique Redness Solutions Primer. It is my favorite thing of all the Redness Solution line, as well. I’m not sure if I will repurchase the cleanser and the moisturizer that are some of  the other products in the line because I don’t think they are diminishing my redness at all. The primer, however, covers it up nicely. I don’t think it has long-term diminishing effects either, but my foundation goes on like a dream and my redness is largely taken care of already when I put it on.

Highlight/Contour

IMG_1645

I’m doing this in order of how I put my makeup on my face and I’m super into cream contour right now, which I put on under my foundation for a natural finish. The RCMA Contour and Highlight Palette is amazing. I use all of the shades here: I use the salmony color in the middle for my dark circles; I combine the pink and the yellow highlights for my forehead, nose, under eye, and chin because I have neutral undertones; and I combine the two contour colors for a subtle contour under my cheekbones, on my temples, and under my lip. I don’t generally contour my nose. This palette may look small, but a little goes a very long way with this. If I want a more dramatic contour, I will add a contour powder on top of my foundation. I don’t really have a favorite right now for that.

Foundation

IMG_1651

There is a foundation in Clinique’s Redness Solution line, but I feel like it grays out my face. After using it for a while, I went back to an old favorite that I much prefer. My skin is very dry, so a dewey foundation is a must. The Maybelline FitMe foundation is amazing! I haven’t tried the Matte and Poreless and, honestly, I may not because matte is not generally my thing. The original formula is fantastic and I love the shade range; I have another shade for the summer. It’s medium coverage, but it is buildable to cover any redness I have left on my face.

Concealer

IMG_1652

The Maybelline Master Concealer is fantastic! It’s thick, but if I blend it with a Beauty Blender, it can go under my eyes without creasing. I do have some lines under my eyes that nothing can fix, but this is the best I’ve found. It blends ridiculously well, too.

Blush

IMG_1650

I will have a whole post on blush for redness, but essentially, you want a coral or peach color. The Milani Baked Blush in Luminioso is perfect. It adds a glow and it doesn’t compete with my red face.

Eyes

Shadow

IMG_1649

Going with the cream theme here, I love the Maybelline Color Tattoos! This one is Inked in Pink and it’s basically my skin color, but it has a sheen, so I can wear it by itself on minimal makeup days or as a base to prevent my powder shadows from creasing. I have basically the whole line and I’m looking forward to getting the Rebel Bloom Limited Edition collection too.

Liner

IMG_1648

This product came in my Birchbox for February and I’m obsessed. It’s a black pencil liner by Cynthia Rowley and it’s so creamy and pigmented and amazing. I run it on my waterlines and I only need to do it once and it does not move! Love it so much! I’m definitely buying a full size when the sample runs out.

Mascara

IMG_1646

This will come as no surprise if you read my previous post. The L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Intenza is my new Holy Grail mascara. It doesn’t get on the hood of my lid and it has a great formula. No clumping or flaking. I just got a sample of Benefit’s Roller Lash, as well, which I’ve been trying out and I like it so far, but I think I’ll do a review of it soon. But for now, the Intenza is under no threat from any other mascara!

Lips

IMG_1654IMG_1653

Please ignore the fact that you can see the foundation and the concealer in these photos. Whoops. My favorite lip products right now are the Sephora Cream Lip Stains. I have them in several colors (the names of which are not on the packaging- grr) and I adore them. These are my favorites (05 and 06). 05, on the right, is like my lips but better and theres some sparkles in it; I’ve been wearing it basically every day since I got it. 06 is a very pinky red and it’s perfect for nights out. These are very long wearing and I can eat virtually anything other than apples and keep this stuff on my lips. I just went to the dentist with 05 on and it faded a bit, but evenly and it’s definitely still there. Love this stuff!

Well, that’s it for February I think. Let me know if you like this sort of post; I wasn’t originally planning to do them. Also, let me know if you have any questions or posts you’d like to see!

xo

