Hello, it’s been 2 years apparently. My, how time flies! Where have I been? Great question! I got into grad school (yay!!) and I got a full time job (double yay!!), which means that I have virtually no time (boo!!). BUT, I am rededicated to this blog. I’ve seen your comments over the last 2 years and they had a common thread.

Which brings us to… drum roll please!

The Order You Put on Your Eyeshadows

Disclaimer: This is MY preference. If someone else works for you, awesome! Makeup is all about experimenting. Try things different ways and see what works best for you.

To recap, with eyeshadow we have our highlighting shades, our transition shades, our defining shades, and our accent shades. A lovely picture showing which goes where is here.

I put my eyeshadows on in that almost order. I first prime my eyes and then I set my primer with my first transition shade, which is a color that is very close to my skin tone. Then I put on my second transition on a fluffy brush, which is a shade darker, right under the brow bone.Then I take another shade darker on a smaller, less fluffy brush and put it right under the last one. You can put as many shades on as you want. But the lighter shades go on top you put each darker shade under the last one. It makes sense to me to go in a descending order like that until I get to my darkest shade at my outer V. Then, I work on my accent shades. This is entirely preference. I just think it’s easier to blend an accent shade into a defining shade than the other way around, but that might just be my perception. Last, I put my highlighting shade just under the eyebrow and inner corner and blend it into everything. I prefer my brow highlight to be matte and my inner corner highlight to be shimmer (I often just use my face highlighter  in my inner corner).

TLDR: Start with the lighter transition shades and go darker into definition shades (with smaller brushes!) as you go down, blending as you go. Then accent shades across the lid, blending into definition shades. Then highlighting shades, blending again.

This all assumes that you use different brushes for each shade. If you don’t, start with lightest shade and go darker.

