Tags

,

Today, I want to talk to you about the color green.

By now, color correcting has been a big trend for a couple years, so it should be by rote by now: peach covers dark circles, green covers red, yellow brightens, lavender covers yellow or sallowness, and orange or dark peach covers dark circles on darker skin tones. If you have large patches of redness on your face, you may have rushed out and bought one green corrector from every brand and put them all over your face. Boom. Redness cancelled out. Of course, now you’re green. So you slather foundation on your face thinking that will cover the green, but it RARELY does. So, now you’re grey. And it’s 8:56 and you start work at 9 so you’ll just be grey. All day. No, this isn’t from experience; I have no idea what you’re talking about.

 

The thing is, color correctors CAN work. I swear by my NYX Dark Circle Corrector. And the underlying theory of opposite colors cancelling each other out is totally true. So WHY does green not work for large patches of redness??

Well, mostly because they’re not meant for that. Green, and actually most color correctors, are meant to be used sparingly. Green works really well on a single zit. Blend it into the skin and cover with foundation and no one will know you have green on underneath.

In addition to using color correctors on small areas, it also works best to use thin layers. The thicker it is, the more noticeable it is.

 

Now, there is a color corrector that you CAN use in larger areas and that’s yellow. Yellow also covers red and, since it brightens, it will not make you grey. I use Maskcara Highlight in Sunlit and use my finger to spread a very thin layer all over my cheeks, chin, and above my eyebrows. This does NOT cancel out the red, but it does cover it effectively. Then I put my foundation on top and the red is just gone.

The Maskcara highlight is actually a cream foundation and not a color corrector, but it’s a color that works for me and I use their highlight and contour as well and I like to have everything in one palette.

Color correctors come as sticks, liquids, creamscushions, and powders (note: I am not endorsing any of these products as I haven’t tried them – I am just showing examples). If you have large patches of redness, I would recommend sticks or liquids or creams. Cushions and powders are light to very light coverage and won’t cover deep redness.

 

So don’t despair if color correcting hasn’t corrected your redness. Try yellow and try thin layers over large areas of cream, liquid, or stick correctors. Foundation on top and you’re done!

 

This post was brought to you by the color yellow.

