Tags

I don’t switch my foundation super often, but I try out one about every few months and I have three that I use regularly depending on what I want from my face each day.

My skin type is bone dry and I love a fuller coverage foundation to help cover that redness, but a nice buildable medium coverage foundation is what I usually choose to avoid the drying matte aspect of full coverage foundations.

These are the three I’m loving now:

 

Nars Sheer Glow

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.43.49 PM.png

Courtesy of Sephora

$47

I think there’s been some misunderstanding about this foundation since it was released. The name is a bit odd; to some, Sheer Glow meant that it was going to be a light coverage. Instead, the name means that the finish is going to be more satin than dewey, but the coverage is medium to full and totally buildable.

love this foundation! I’m in color Gobi, which is yellow based, so it works well on my redness (see my post about color correctors to understand the glory that is the color yellow) and it has a very nice finish that counteracts my dryness. I would say this foundation is more dewey than satin, but it’s not really dewey and it dries down really well. My face really does glow throughout the day.

 

Milani Conceal and Correct 

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.43.32 PM.png

Courtesy of Milani

$10

This foundation is the fullest coverage I have. I basically only use this for events or any situation when my face gets really red. This covers ALL the redness. It completely cancels it out. But, it is very mystifying and clings to my dry patches, so I use thin layers so it doesn’t get cakey and I will even use a makeup sponge around my nose and mouth after applying so that the foundation doesn’t bunch up in the creases around those areas.

Maybelline Fit Me Dewey and Smooth

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 7.24.27 PM.png

Courtesy of Ulta

$8

This foundation is the dewiest of the three. It actually doesn’t fully set and your face will be slightly tacky all day, which some may not be super into, but I don’t mind it. Similarly to the Nars foundation, this is a very buildable medium coverage foundation. It does not do as well covering my redness, but I love how the dewey finish makes my skin look.

 

So, to sum up, I wear the Nars foundation most days as the finish does good things for my skin type and coverage and color works well on my redness. I wear the Milani and the Maybelline much less frequently and depending on whether I’m going to be in a situation where my face is really red or if there’s a day when my face feels particularly dry.

